Three mobile 4G roll-out

Three mobile 4G roll-out

Three is currently rolling out its 4G network. Rumours suggest that by 03/03/2014 most customers who are able for receive 4G in their area will have their devices updated to support the new higher-speed broadband.

By the end of 2014 fifty cities will be covered, with 98% of the UK population being covered by the end of 2015. This post aims to keep track of changes and the roll-out.

Last updated: Monday 30th October 2014.

4G enabled cities and towns:
  1. Aberdeen
  2. Ashford
  3. Bath
  4. Basingstoke
  5. Bedford
  6. Birmingham (and Lichfield and Stafford areas)
  7. Blackpool
  8. Bolton
  9. Bournemouth
  10. Bradford (mainly Southern areas)
  11. Bristol
  12. Cambridge (Central Northern and Western areas)
  13. Cardiff
  14. Chelmsford
  15. Colchester
  16. Coventry (North and central areas only)
  17. Crawley (Northern areas) and Gatwick Airport
  18. Derby
  19. Doncaster
  20. Dundee
  21. Edinburgh  (Western areas, none in city centre)
  22. Exeter
  23. Farnborough and Aldershot
  24. Gillingham
  25. Glasgow (Southern areas) and some areas to the East of the city
  26. Gloucester
  27. Grimsby
  28. Hartlepool
  29. Huddersfield
  30. Ipswich
  31. Leeds (and Harrogate, Barnsley and Shipley)
  32. Leicester (Central)
  33. Liverpool (North and East areas mainly)
  34. London - currently no coverage south of Croydon, in the Barnet area (North) and in the Epping/Hainault area (East). Also Bromley, Orpington, Banstead and Epsom and Leatherhead areas
  35. Loughborough
  36. Luton
  37. Maidstone
  38. Manchester and Oldham
  39. Middlesborough
  40. Milton Keynes and Bletchley
  41. Newcastle upon Tyne
  42. Newport (Wales)
  43. Northampton
  44. North of Newcastle-under-lyne/Stoke on Trent in the Chesterton/Bradwell area
  45. Nottingham (and Arnold and Long Eaton)
  46. Oxford and Abingdon 
  47. Peterborough
  48. Plymouth
  49. Portsmouth
  50. Preston (and Blackburn and Burnley)
  51. Reading
  52. Royal Tunbridge Wells
  53. Sheffield
  54. Slough
  55. Southampton
  56. Southport
  57. Southend-on-Sea
  58. Stevenage and Baldock
  59. Stirling
  60. Sunderland
  61. Swansea
  62. Swindon (Not in city centre, but to the north east of the city)
  63. Torquay and Paignton
  64. Watford
  65. Wolverhampton
  66. York

As we can see Three already has a service in quite a few of the 50 locations in promised - coverage in these locations will continue to improve throughout the year as more transmitters are turned over to 4G.

Here is what Three says the roll-out will look like by the end of 2014:

Popular posts from this blog

Working at Disneyland Paris 2014 - Accommodation Options

A post reminiscing about the Walt Disney World International College Program

London: Things to do and Events in February